Organized With Clardy

Solutions For Simplifying Your Life

Simplifying Weekly Menu Planning August 6, 2012

Today is Monday and I am going to do what I said I was going to do…I am going to plan my meals for the week.  I have a cup of my favorite coffee, I have my supplies…I am ready to get started.

Getting Organized

I use to write my meal plan out in my daily planner but I believe this is one reason I got off track before.  It was an out of sight, out of mind kind of thing.  I decided this time to go with a magnetic notepad that I can put on the front of my refrigerator…right in front of my face!

#1 large divided notepad to write out my menus – this way I can see at a glance what is going on for the week, as well as, what meat I need to pull out of the freezer when.

#1 small notepad to write out my shopping list – this also goes on the refrigerator so we can easily write down an item we use up during the week.

Menu Planning Notepads

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also realized that I already have quite a bit of food on hand between my pantry and my deep freeze.  HOWEVER, this is what my deep freeze looks like…

Deep Freeze Unorganized

Yikes! who knows what is in that unorganized mess.  I do know that there is nothing older than a year in there…only because we lost all our food in a four-day power outage when hurricane Irene came through at the end of August last year.

I started searching the internet for the perfect freezer inventory printable and while I was doing that I came across this blog post by Amy Bayliss at Cajun Joie de Vivre, Creative Organization: Organize Foods in the Deep Freezer w/ Printables.

Love her ideas on organizing a freezer without the use of an inventory list!

 

 

 

 

 

Goals For The Week:

  1. Organize my deep freeze using Amy Bayliss’ method
  2. Make a menu based on the food I already have

 

Menu Plan for the Week:

Monday ~ Taco Salad with Guacamole Salad

Tuesday ~ Thai Chicken Pasta with garden salad

Wednesday ~ Leftovers

Thursday ~ Pork Chop Casserole w long grain rice

Friday ~ O.T. E (we are going out to eat with friends)

Saturday ~ Homemade pizza (sauce)

Sunday ~ Whole fryer (cooked in crock-pot) with mashed potatoes and Weeknight Dinner Rolls

 

Anybody else tackle meal planning this week?  How do you keep track of your menu?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

